Inaugural Samburu Rugby Sevens launched

Alvin Otieno

Shujaa"s Alvin Otieno (right) makes a try against Morans during their semi-final match at the Safari Sevens at Nyayo National Stadium on October 31, 2021.

Photo credit: Chris Omollo | Nation Media Group

What you need to know:

  • Rugby union features 15 players with the shorter version having seven players, while rugby league is also a full contact sport played by two teams of 13 players each side with the shorter version having nine players.
  • “The Rugby Union that is the Rhino Cup will have the top Elite Tier featuring professional sides, Second Tier that will have semi-professional teams and Third Tier,” said Mulroy, adding that Kenya Sevens might feature in the Elite Tier.

The maiden Samburu Rugby Sevens that will feature both the Rugby Union and Rugby League versions will take place from July 15 to 17 at Kalama Conservancy, Samburu County.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.