ODM blocks Ruto from key parliamentary panel

ODM manages to exclude Cabinet Minister William Ruto from the all-important parliamentary House Business Committee after MPs now vote unanimously to pass its list of members.

Though the membership of the House Business Committee remained as initially tabled on Wednesday, most MPs who rose to contribute spoke in its support.

The committee is crucial in parliament as it is the one that schedules business for the House.

The MPs shouted 'aye' to show their unanimous support when Speaker Kenneth Marende called the procedural motion to vote. This showed a major climb-down by supporters of Agriculture Minister William Ruto who had cried foul when the list was initially tabled.

Mr Ruto has fallen out with his party leader, Mr Raila Odinga, and has lately been seen to fraternise more with President Kibaki's Party of National Unity (PNU).

Rivalry between the two came to a head recently when Mr Odinga, who is also the Prime Minister, moved to suspend Mr Ruto from the Cabinet alongside Education minister Sam Ongeri. The PM argued that the two needed to step aside to allow for investigations into corruption allegations in their dockets.

The newly approved House Business Committee immediately proceeded to its first meeting to set agenda for debate. The members include:

  1. The Speaker Kenneth Marende (Ex-Officio Member) - Chair
  2. Anyang’ Nyong’o
  3. Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka
  4. Uhuru Kenyatta
  5. Musalia Mudavadi
  6. Prof George Saitoti
  7. Dr Sally Kosgei
  8. Henry Kosgey
  9. Charity Ngilu
  10. Mutula Kilonzo
  11. Beth Mugo
  12. Martha Karua
  13. Dr Boni Khalwale
  14. Adan Keynan
  15. Musikari Kombo
  16. George Thuo
  17. Mohamud Maalim Mohamed
  18. Dr Joyce Laboso
  19. Ali Mohamed Mohamud
  20. Thomas Ludindi Mwadeghu
  21. Charles Onyancha
  22. Jakoyo Midiwo


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.