Eliud Kipchoge, Edna Kiplagat to lead Kenyan marathon teams in London

Kenya's Eliud Kipchoge celebrates after winning the Men's Marathon athletics event of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at the Sambodromo in Rio de Janeiro on August 21, 2016. PHOTO | OLIVIER MORIN |

What you need to know:

  • Kipchoge will partner with the 2012 Olympic marathon silver medallist Wilson Kipsang, who won the Tokyo Marathon in February, and the new London Marathon champion Daniel Wanjiru as they try to recapture the men’s title which Abel Kirui last won for Kenya in 2011.
  • Reigning Boston Marathon champion Geoffrey Kirui and the 2016 Mumbai Marathon champion Gedion Kipketer, who finished second in the Tokyo Marathon, have been picked as reserves in the men’s team.

Olympic marathon champion Eliud Kipchoge and two-time World marathon champion Edna Kiplagat will lead Kenya’s marathon assault at the London World Championships due August 4 to 13 at the Olympic Stadium.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.