President John Pombe Magufuli

President John Pombe Magufuli after taking the oath of office for the second term on November 5, 2020.

| Pool | Nation Media Group

Tanzania politicians flee to Kenya, police arrest four people

What you need to know:

  • Lazaro Kitori Edwin (Mkoma Ward), Edward Jacaduogo Ndege (Nyaongo Ward) and Andrew Mng’osi Nyakriga (Ikoma Ward) are in Nairobi after crossing the border between Monday and Tuesday.
  • The lawyer of the four politicians said they are seeking asylum in Kenya.

Four Tanzanian opposition politicians have fled to Kenya, citing safety concerns, even as President John Pombe Magufuli remains out of the public eye for the 17th day running.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.