Waititu, Sonko ‘unfit for office’

PHOTO | ANTHONY OMUYA Chairman of Commission for Administrative Justice Otiende Amollo (centre) with commission’s secretary Leonard Ngaluma address journalists at their office in Nairobi on December 17, 2012.

What you need to know:

  • The list further includes former ECK Chairman Samuel Kivuitu, Jeremiah Matagaro, Jack Tumwa, Anne Wambaa, Muturi Kigano, David Ndambiri and Samuel Arap Ngeny, among others
  • Also named in the list are former Permanent Secretary Sylvester Mwaliko, former Kenya Wines Agency Managing Director Francis Oyugi, former Nairobi Mayor John Ndirangu, former director of the National Aids Control Council Margaret Gachara, former Kenya Wildlife Service Director Evans Mukolwe and Mr Francis Menjo, formerly of the Rift Valley Institute of Science and Technology
  • Apart from mismanaging the election, Mr Amollo said the law barred anyone who had held office as a member of the IEBC from contesting for elections as an MP at any time within five years preceding the date of the election

Embakasi MP Ferdinand Waititu and his Makadara counterpart Gideon Mbuvi are amongst 36 Kenyans the office of the ombudsman wants barred from taking part in next year’s General Election or holding any public office.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.