Journalists barred from interviews for DPP position

Acting Director of Public Prosecutions Dorcas Oduor, former IEBC commissioner Thomas Letangule and Supreme Court Deputy Registrar Daniel ole Keiwua, who are among the 10 candidates shortlisted to fill the position of DPP. Interviews began on March 8, 2018 and will end on March 9, 2018. PHOTO | FILE

What you need to know:

  • Ten candidates out of 27 applicants were shortlisted for interviews for the DPP position.
  • Three candidates will be interviewed on Thursday morning and three on Thursday afternoon.
  • Three more will be interviewed on Friday morning and the last one on Friday afternoon.

Journalists have been barred from covering the ongoing interviews for the position of Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

Earlier, the selection panel chairperson Dr Elizabeth Muli said the press would be allowed to cover the exercise.


Deputy Supreme Court Registrar Daniel Kanyinke ole Keiwua has been interviewed. Former IEBC commissioner Thomas Letangule is now before panel and later, Senior Assistant DPP James Mungai Warui will be interviewed.

Only the three candidates were to be interviewed in the morning.

The interviews are being held at the Public Service Commission.

The selection panel will in the afternoon interview National Intelligence Service senior director Noordin Haji, Senior Counsel Lucy Kambuni and deputy DPP Dorcas Oduor.

Deputy DPP Nicholas Mutuku, lawyer Patrick Magero Gumo and Deputy DPP Jacob Nyakundi Ondari will be the first three candidates to face the panel on Friday morning.

The selection panel will conclude the exercise by interviewing Machakos chief magistrate Abdulkadir Ramadhan the same afternoon.


The DPP position fell vacant after Mr Keriako Tobiko resigned, following his nomination as Environment Cabinet secretary.

Meanwhile, members of the public raised concerns on Wednesday after the panel failed to provide clear addresses for them to submit their objections and views on the 10 shortlisted candidates.

Last week, the panel published names of the 27 applicants and the 10 shortlisted candidates and invited the public to “avail in writing any credible information of interest relating to any of the shortlisted candidates”.

However, the advertisement did not indicate an email, postal address or any means through which the public could forward their views.


The seven-member selection panel consists of Dr Muli (Law Society of Kenya), Mr Kennedy Kihara (Office of the President), Ms Maryann Njau (Attorney-General’s office) and Ms Lilian Omollo (Public Service ministry).

The others are Ms Kagwiria Mbogori (Kenya National Commission on Human Rights), Mr Francis Atwoli (Central Organisation of Trade Unions) and Mr Halakhe Waqo (Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission).

After the interviews, the selection panel is required to submit to the President three names of those who are most qualified.

The President will then choose one person and forward the name to the National Assembly for vetting.

After the vetting, should they approve the nominee, the President will make the appointment.

The office holder will serve a maximum of eight years and the term is non-renewable.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.