Celebrations as Chebukati declares Uhuru winner

Nyeri residents celebrate on August 11, 2017 after President Uhuru Kenyatta was declared the winner of the 2017 general election. PHOTO | JOSEPH KANYI | NATION MEDIA GROUP

There have been celebrations after IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati officially declared Jubilee’s Uhuru Kenyatta the winner of the presidential election in the just-concluded polls.

Mr Kenyatta garnered 8,203,290 votes to beat opposition national Super Alliance (Nasa) presidential candidate Raila Odinga who garnered votes 6,762,224.