Peruvian beats Ngugi to Nobel Prize

Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa is pictured as he visits an exhibition about his work "Mario Vargas Llosa. La liberte et la vie (Freedom and life)" at the Maison de l'Amerique Latine on September 13, 2010 in Paris. Mr Vargas won the 2010 Nobel Literature Prize October 7, 2010. AFP

What you need to know:

Nobel Literature Prize: The five past winners

2010: Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)

2009: Herta Mueller (Germany)

2008: Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio (France)

2007: Doris Lessing (Britain)

2006: Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)


Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa won the 2010 Nobel Literature Prize on Thursday, the Swedish Academy said.

It hailed "his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat."

He edged out a host of other celebrated authors, including Kenya's Ngugi wa Thiong’o, to land the coveted prize.