Warholm, Thompson-Herah named World Athletes of the Year

Elaine Thompson-Herah

Jamaica's Elaine Thompson-Herah sticks out her tongue as she wins the women's 200m final during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games at the Olympic Stadium in Tokyo on August 3, 2021.

Photo credit: Javier Soriano | AFP

What you need to know:

  • Warholm's time of 45.94sec in winning gold is widely considered one of the greatest Olympic track performances of all time.
  • The time erased the 29-year-old record of 46.78sec set by Kevin Young at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics.
  • "When I realised 45.94 was a reality, I thought, wow, I'll take it," Warholm said at the ceremony at the World Athletics ceremony in Monaco.

Kenya Wednesday missed out on 2021 World Athletics Awards as Olympics 400m hurdles champion Karsten Warholm (Norway) and double Olympics champion Elaine Thompson-Herah were declared the best athletes 


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.