Elkana Yego retains Kisumu Marathon title

What you need to know:

  • Trans Nzoia County star keeps his crown as Kericho’s Chepkemoi shrugs off strong challenge to take the women’s honours.
  • This year’s race was the 11th edition with the 23-year-old runner having won in 2:17:30 last year.

Trans Nzoia’s Elkana Yego on Sunday defended his Safaricom Kisumu City Marathon title, winning in two hours, 18 minutes and 58 seconds on a tough course under hot and humid conditions.

This year’s race was the 11th edition with the 23-year-old runner having won in 2:17:30 last year.

Yesterday, Yego ran a tactical race, trailing the lead pack of three runners for the better part of the race before outpacing the field with three kilometres left in a perfect strategy.

Francis Bowen of Elgeyo-Marakwet County came is second in 2:19:03 while Declerk Omari of Nyamira County settled for the third position in 2:19:08  
Yego attributed his victory to his “resilience” saying before the race begun, he felt intimidated by other athletes who appeared “physically stronger.”

“I thank God for winning because it’s something I never expected. My opponents looked stronger than me and it was also very hot so I did not expect to come first. But I was determined and gave my best. I thank God for retaining this title,” said Yego.

In the women’s race, 29-year-old Diana Chepkemoi from Kericho County won in 2:51:34. The second and third positions went to Teresia Omosa from Nyamira County and Hellen Wanjiku from Nairobi who clocked in 2:52:35 and 2:52:53, respectively.

“It is very hot in Kisumu and this kept me slowing a bit but I ensured no one was ahead of me. I feel good for this win and above all, I thank God,” said Chepkemoi.

The race was, however, not spared of drama as one athlete was caught cheating.

This year’s race attracted about 500 runners with the first three athletes to cross the line receiving Sh500,000, Sh250,000 and Sh100,000, respectively.

The first “local” athlete to cross the line was awarded Sh30,000 while the second and third received Sh20,000 and Sh10,000 respectively.



1. Elkana Yego 2:18:52

2. Francis Bowen 2:19:03

3. Deklerk Omari 2:19:08

4. Issac Ngeno 2:21:01

5. Alfred Maisiba 2:21:06

6. Stephen Kibomet 2:21:21

7. Abedinego Ombori 2:21:21

8. Jalius Kilimo 2:22:01

10. George Achula 2:22:05


1. Diana Chepkemoi 2:51:34

2. Terresia Omosa 2:52:35

3. Hellen Wanjiku 2:5253

4. Rebecca Chapsang 2:53:42

5. Sheila Kiplagat 2:56:40

6. Doris Monda 2:57:03

7. Irine Mogaka 2:57:47

8. Silvia Jepkoskei 3:0618

9. Janet Cheruto 3:08:00

10. Siposa Chebet 3:20:16

10Km (men)

Ezekiel Odwuor 30:58, Joseph Okello 32:36:38, John Bosco 32:37:39, johnstone Omondi 33:52:00, Donald Omondi 34:26:00

10km (women)

Lewnida Agatha 3 8:37:00, Agnes Atieno 46:47:00, Esther Akinyi 54:27:00, Catherine Aringo 54:56:00, Elizabeth Awuor 55:59:00


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.