Discovery win brings back Kiprop dream of Olympic 10,000m gold


Wilson Kiprop, Africa 10,000m champion, wins the Discovery Kenya 12km senior men cross country race held at Eldoret Sports Club.

Africa 10,000 metres champion Wilson Kiprop and Gothenburg Marathon winner Joyce Chepkurui won the senior races at Sunday’s 21st Nike International Discovery Kenya Cross Country meeting in Eldoret.

Kiprop, from Eldoret, said after the victory: “I am now only eyeing the Olympics. I missed the World Championships over a knee injury and I am back to fight for a place in the Olympics 10,000m final.”

World Youth 3,000m champion William Malel and Olympic Youth Games 3,000m winner Gladys Chesir won the junior races at the soft and manicured course circuit.

World half marathon title-holder Kiprop beat a classy field that had Boston Marathon supremo Geoffrey Mutai, Milan Half Marathon winner Mathew Kisorio and Olympic 1,500m gold medallist Asbel Kiprop.

He commanded the lead up to midpoint with Mutai, Kisorio and Kiprop in tow then pulled away at the 200m mark to breast the tape in 34 minutes and 48.5 seconds.

Mutai (34:53.0), Kisorio (35:04.0) and new catch Charles Kimeli (35:07.3) followed.

Dominated cross country meetings

Chepkurui, who has dominated cross country meetings this season, stunned the stellar line-up in 26:22.5, ahead of World marathon silver medallist Prisca Jeptoo, Georgina Rono and Goreti Chepkoech.

Malel stormed to the 6km honours in 23:03.2 ahead of his arch-rival, Africa Junior Cross Country champion Japhet Korir, and Philemon Yator while Gladys Chesir, Kenya’s first Youth Olympic gold medallist, took the women’s 6km race in 20:10.7, beating Africa Cross junior champion Caroline Chepkoech and Agnes Chebet.

Leading results

Men – 12km: 1.Wilson Kiprop (34:48.49), 2.Geoffrey Mutai (34:53.0), 3.Mathew Kisorio (35:04.0), 4.Charles Kimeli (35:07.3), 5.Kenneth Kipkemboi (35:29.1);

8km: 1. William Malel (23:03.2), 2.Japhet Korir (23:14.5), 3.Philemon Yator (23:23.5), 4.Moses Mukano (23:30.1), 5.Stanly Keter (23:31.8);

Women – 8km: 1.Joyce Chepkurui (26:22.5), 2.Prisca Jeptoo (26:34.8), 3.Georgina Rono (26:35.0), 4.Goreti Chepkoech (26:39.2), 5.Helena Kirop (26:44.8);

6km: 1.Gladys Chesir (20:10.7), 2.Caroline Chepkoech (20:24.7), 3.Agnes Chebet (20:34.5), 4.Rosalinda Chepkorir (20:39.2), 4.Magdaline Masai (20:46.1), 5.Joyline Koima (20:55.8)


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.