Mt Kenya leaders extend olive branch to Speaker Muturi to secure votes

Nairobi Deputy Governor Anne Kananu, Kieni MP Kanini Kega, Kiambu Governor James Nyoro, Agriculture CS Peter Munya and Governors Lee Kinyanjui (Nakuru), Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga) and Ndiritu Murithi (Laikipia) during a Mt Kenya unity meeting at Kenya Methodist University in Meru on July 24, 2021. 

Photo credit: David Muchui | Nation Media Group

What you need to know:

  • The leaders said they will not allow Mt Kenya region to be excluded in the government formed after the 2022 General Election.

Mt Kenya leaders have extended an olive branch to National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi and his allies, asking them to join them in averting a split of the region’s eight million votes.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.