Teachers to pay for training in TSC deal with varsities

What you need to know:

  • The scheme will start despite protests from the Kenya National Union of Teachers (Knut), which had demanded more consultation on the issue and even challenged it in court.

  • The training will be undertaken by Kenyatta University, Mount Kenya University, Riara University and the Kenya Education Management Institute.

Each teacher will be required to pay Sh6,000 per year for professional development training that is set to start in April after the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) signed a deal with four higher learning institutions to provide the training.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.