Court: Governors need not resign to vie for presidency in 2022 election

Wycliffe Oparanya, Hassan Joho, Alfred Mutua

Governors Wycliffe Oparanya (Kakamega), Hassan Joho (Mombasa) and Alfred Mutua (Machakos) who have stated that they will vie for the presidency in the 2022 General Election.

Photo credit: File | Nation Media Group

What you need to know:

  • The judge also contradicted his colleague on the interpretation of the Constitution on whether sitting MCAs are qualified to vie for parliamentary seats.

Governors eyeing the presidency in the 2022 General Election will not have to resign, the High Court has ruled in a Constitution interpretation dispute that has split two judges.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.