You don’t need passport to travel all over East Africa

What you need to know:

  • Many Kenyans, Burundians, Rwandans, Tanzanians and Ugandans are unaware that they do not require visas to travel to each others’ countries.
  • The East African Passport may be used for travel within the community only. It has a six-months multiple entry validity, which is one of the privileges it accords the holder.

President Kenyatta on Wednesday exited Kenya and entered Uganda using his national identity card as a demonstration that East Africans do not require a passport or visa to travel to the regional states.


You're all set to enjoy unlimited Prime content.